2019 NFNL Women’s Round 1 fixture released

Published on Thursday, March 14, 2019

The fixture for the opening round of the 2019 NFNL Women’s football competition has been released.

The senior women’s football competition will feature a record 22 teams in its third season, with 17 clubs now represented across the competition.

VU Western Spurs will again field three teams – the most of any club in the competition. Darebin, Diamond Creek Women’s and Montmorency have each entered two teams.

Heidelberg, Hurstbridge, Reservoir and Wallan will all field a senior women’s football team in the NFNL for the very first time.

Keilor (EDFL), La Trobe University (VAFA) and Whitehorse Colts (EFL) have transferred from the league to align with their senior men’s football teams.

For the first time the NFNL will undertake grading in its senior women’s competition, with the opening four rounds to be graded.

Teams will be separated into three divisions following the grading games. The number of teams that will compete in each division is yet to be confirmed and will be determined by results of grading games.

Fixtures for the three subsequent rounds of grading will be released on the Monday prior to each round.

The opening round of the NFNL Women’s football competition will be played across four days and will feature three premiership flag unfurlings, a night match and two twilight fixtures.

Eltham and St Mary’s kick-off the season with a night match at Eltham Central Park on Friday April 5.

The following day West Preston-Lakeside will unveil both its senior men’s and women’s premiership flags, with the women’s fixture to be played directly after the Roosters’ men’s match against Heidelberg at J.E. Moore Park.

Heidelberg and Hurstbridge meet on Saturday April 13, with the match to be played following the senior men’s match between the same two clubs.

The Sunday April 14 game between Reservoir and Wallan pits two of the competition’s newcomers against each other, while Bundoora will unfurl its 2018 Division 3 premiership flag on the same day when it hosts Diamond Creek Women’s 2.

A venue has not yet been determined for Bendigo’s opening round game against VU Western Spurs 1, where the Thunder will begin their second-consecutive premiership defence.

A.H. Capp will host a double header with Darebin to take on Montmorency in consecutive fixtures, commencing at 12:00pm and 2:00pm.

Continue below for the full Round 1 fixture:

Friday April 5
Eltham vs St Mary’s at Eltham Central Park @ 7:00pm

Saturday April 6
West Preston-Lakeside vs Diamond Creek Women’s 1 at J.E. Moore Park @ 4:15pm

Saturday April 13
Heidelberg vs Hurstbridge at Warringal Park @ 4:15pm

Sunday April 14
Darebin 2 vs Montmorency 2 at A.H. Capp Reserve @ 12:00pm
Bendigo Thunder vs VU Western Spurs 1 at (venue TBA) @ 2:00pm
Bundoora vs Diamond Creek Women’s 2 at Yulong Reserve @ 2:00pm
Darebin 1 vs Montmorency 1 at A.H. Capp Reserve @ 2:00pm
Laurimar vs Greensborough at Laurimar Reserve @ 2:00pm
Mernda vs VU Western Spurs 2 at Waterview Recreation Reserve @ 2:00pm
Reservoir vs Wallan at Crispe Park @ 2:00pm
South Morang vs VU Western Spurs 3 at Mill Park Lakes Reserve @ 2:00pm

Related News