2023 Melbourne Greyhounds Division 1 Team of the Year

Published on Friday, September 22, 2023

The 2023 Melbourne Greyhounds Division 1 Team of the Year has been selected.

The Team of the Year is selected based on the following criteria:

• Nominations submitted by each senior coach within each division at the conclusion of the home and away season. Coaches must select a player for each position on the field.

• Coaches MVP votes

• Best and Fairest votes

Seven players have been selected from minor premiers Heidelberg. For Frank Rosbrook Medallist Lachlan Wilson, this is his fourth consecutive selection, meanwhile Sam Gilmore and Matthew Smith made it three appearances in a Division 1 Team of the Year.

Montmorency finished with four representatives in the side, with Patrick Fitzgerald and Liam Wale-Buxton repeating their 2022 efforts by being selected in the side. For Fitzgerald, this is his fifth consecutive appearance, and his tenth overall.

Grand Finalists Bundoora had three players in the final squad, as did Hurstbridge. Bulls defender and former Bridges captain Lachlan East as well as current Hurstbridge forward Joel Naylor each earnt a third appearance in the side.

Greensborough defenders Jack Johnston and Angus Seivers are the two players representing the club in the 2023 team. It’s Johnston’s fifth appearance in the final squad.

Macleod, North Heidelberg and West Preston-Lakeside all have one player represented. Selected at centre half back, it’s Darcy Barden’s first Division 1 selection since 2014.

The NFNL congratulates everyone selected in the team.

Please continue below to see the 2023 Melbourne Greyhounds Division 1 Team of the Year.

Related News