Thunder, Spurs claim inaugural NFLW flags

Published on Monday, August 28, 2017

Author : Jacinta Frazzetto

The inaugural Northpark NFLW season came to its conclusion with Bendigo claiming the Division 1 premiership and VU Western Spurs prevailing in Division 2.


After falling to Diamond Creek Women’s in the second semi-final, Bendigo came full circle to defeat the Creekers 5.5 (35) to 4.1 (25) in the premiership decider at Preston City Oval.

In the opening minutes, Leah French was on the receiving end of an Andrea Walsh pass and kicked truly from the pocket to get the Thunder off to the ideal start.

The Thunder continued to control the play and goals from Laura Flanagan and Ayrlea Bailey-McClanahan gave them a 21-point lead by quarter time.

The Creekers opened their scoring via an Airlie Runnalls snap, before a Jessica Provan mark in the goal square gave them back-to-back goals.

The Creekers momentum continued with an Emma Fraser major, reducing the Thunder’s lead to just four points at half-time.

Bendigo responded with Flanagan’s second major, which proved to be the only goal of the third term as the Thunder took an 11-point lead into the final change.

Needing two goals to take the lead, the Creekers secured the first major midway through the final term, via a creative snap around the corner from Runnalls. It reduced the deficit to just four points.

With just five minutes left in the match, a composed pass from Kodi Jacques to competition leading goal kicker Walsh, who converted the set shot and sealed the Division 1 premiership for Bendigo.

Jacinta Louttit was named best afield by the umpires for her fantastic efforts across the ground for the Thunder.

Final score: Diamond Creek Women’s 4.1 (25) def by Bendigo 5.5 (35)


The VU Western Spurs took home the Division 2 premiership cup after defeating West Preston-Lakeside 4.3 (27) to 1.2 (8).

The Spurs got off to a flying start, with Stacy Rigon kicking a goal in the opening minute of play. An accurate set shot from Stacey Smith provided the Spurs with a 14-point lead at the first break.

The Roosters responded early in the second, with a Natarsha Bamblett goal reducing the Spurs lead to eight points at half-time.

The Spurs however, made the most of their opportunities in the third quarter with Nadine Lampard scoring a major.

It was followed by a superb kick off the ground from Kerrie Clarke which stretched the Spurs’ lead out to a 20 point margin.

Despite kicking with the wind in the last quarter, the Roosters were unable to track down the deficit, as the Spurs held on strongly to win the flag.

VU Western Spurs’ Nadine Lampard was rewarded for her outstanding performance, named best afield by the umpires.

Final score: VU Western Spurs 4.3 (27) def West Preston-Lakeside 1.2 (8)

To view images from the NFLW grand finals, head to

Related News