NFLW season to kick off

Published on Thursday, April 20, 2017

History will be made this weekend with the first round of the Northpark NFLW set to take place.

The inaugural match in the NFL women’s competition was played on April 1, when Whitehorse defeated West Preston-Lakeside by 26 points at J.E. Moore Park in NFLW Division 2.

This weekend all sides will be in action in the first complete round of the competition.

The inaugural Northpark NFLW season will feature 20 teams playing across two divisions.

Division 1 will consist of 10 teams from the former Victoria Women’s Football League.

They include Bendigo Thunder, Darebin, Deer Park, Diamond Creek Women’s, Kew, La Trobe Uni, Melbourne Uni, Pascoe Vale, VU Western Spurs and Whitehorse.

Division 2 will also consist of 10 teams, made up of second teams from Division 1 clubs, along with teams formed from existing Northern Football League clubs.

The Division 2 competition will include Darebin 2, Diamond Creek Women’s 2, Kew 2, La Trobe Uni 2, Laurimar, Montmorency, South Morang, VU Western Spurs 2, West Preston-Lakeside and Whitehorse 2.

NFL chief executive Peter McDougall said the establishment of the Northpark NFLW competition was a natural progression for the league after managing junior girls football competitions for the past decade.

“The introduction of the NFL women’s competitions is a natural progression after re-structuring our junior competitions in 2016,” McDougall said.

“As well as managing the senior women’s competition, the NFL will also conduct an under-10 girls competition along with the existing under-12, under-14, under-16 and under-18 competitions.

“This structure will allow females, like males, to play football with one club from Auskick right through to seniors.”

Northpark NFLW matches will be played primarily on Sunday afternoons, although McDougall said exceptions would be made for Women’s VFL aligned clubs who requested curtain raisers.

This weekend’s matches are:


Saturday April 22
Kew vs Whitehorse at Victoria Park, Kew
Deer Park vs VU Western Spurs at Deer Park Sports Oval
Sunday April 23
Bendigo vs Darebin at Queen Elizabeth Oval, Bendigo
La Trobe Uni vs Diamond Creek Women’s at La Trobe University Oval
Pascoe Vale vs Melbourne University at Raeburn Reserve


Saturday April 22
Kew 2 vs Whitehorse 2 at Victoria Park, Kew
Sunday April 23
La Trobe Uni 2 vs Diamond Creek Women’s 2 at La Trobe University Oval
South Morang vs Darebin 2 at Mill Park Lakes Reserve
West Preston-Lakeside vs VU Western Spurs 2 at J.E. Moore Park
Laurimar vs Montmorency at Laurimar Reserve

Related News