Coffield named Knights captain

Published on Tuesday, March 21, 2017

THE Northern Knights have finalised their TAC Cup squad for 2017, with Eltham’s Nicholas Coffield named club captain.

The 52-man squad includes 26 players from Northern Football League clubs, while a further three played senior football with Banyule last year while also playing junior football in the YJFL.

The squad comprises 27 top-age players, 21 bottom-age players and four confirmed 19-year-olds.

Northern Knights’ Talent Manager Rhy Gieschen says narrowing down the list to its final 52 was a tough decision.

“We wanted to really extend the opportunity to give as many players as possible the chance to showcase their talents and earn a spot on the list this year,” Gieschen said.

“We entered pre-season with 85 players and had to make some really tough decisions.

“The group that did make the 52 were really made to earn it and should feel really proud of their accomplishments over pre-season.”

A new era of the Northern Knights began with the announcement of Coffield as the club’s 2017 TAC Cup captain.

“The Knights now have a more club atmosphere than any other time I’ve been here and I’m confident the club is heading in the right direction,” Coffield said

“By everyone working together on and off the field, we can again make the Knights respected off the field and feared on the field.”

All players in the six-man leadership group come from NFL clubs, with Coffield to be assisted by Kye Agosta (Diamond Creek), Anthony Fable (South Morang), Joel Naylor (Whittlesea), Ethan Penrith (West Preston-Lakeside) and Jamison Shea (Lower Plenty).

With the squad now finalised Gieschen said he couldn’t wait for the real season to start, with Round 1 commencing last Sunday March 26 against the Western Jets at IKON Park.

“The real hard work starts now and the grind of a full TAC Cup season is difficult, physically and mentally,” Gieschen said.

“We hope that with the body of work they have put behind them over pre-season we are in a really good place to impact the competition strongly.”

Below is the Northern Knights’ TAC Cup squad for the 2017 season:

Kye Agosta (Diamond Creek), Mitchell Andrews (South Morang), Mark Baker (Whitefriars Old Collegians), Nicholas Barro (St Mary’s JFC), Brody Bell (South Morang), Sam Binion (Montmorency), Ryan Bowkett (St Mary’s JFC), Joshua Broderick (Marcellin Old Collegians/Marcellin College), Joseph Ciranna (Bulleen Templestowe), Nicholas Coffield (Eltham), Patrik Della Rocca (Banyule JFC/Marcellin College), Max Dreher (Old Ivanhoe/Ivanhoe College), Anthony Fable (South Morang), Christian Farchione (Heidelberg JFC/Marcellin College), Alex Federico (Old Ivanhoe/Marcellin College), Rayden Garrard (Greensborough), Braedyn Gillard (Montmorency), Harrison Grace (Fitzroy JFC), Joel Grace (South Morang), Thomas Hallebone (Preston Bullants), Matthew Harman (Marcellin Old Collegians), Mitchell Hocking (St Mary’s JFC), Jack House (Laurimar), Patrick Howe (Marcellin Old Collegians), Zachary    Hudson (St Mary’s JFC), Daniel Iozzi (Lower Plenty/Caulfield Grammar), Ben Laschko (Greensborough), Marcus Lentini (Diamond Creek), Riley Loton (Banyule JFC/Marcellin College), Tom McKenzie (Fitzroy), Matthew McLellan (Eltham), Patrick Naish (Old Ivanhoe/Ivanhoe Grammar), Kareem Nasser (Noble Park JFC/Haileybury College), Vince Nativo (Mill Park), Joel Naylor (Whittlesea/Assumption College), Ethan Penrith (West Preston-Lakeside), Jack Petruccelle (Epping), Joel Randall (St Mary’s JFC), Ryan Sanelli (Greensborough), Jamison Shea (Lower Plenty), Lane Sinclair (Eltham), Tynan Smith (Greensborough/Wesley College), Oliver Stapleton (Heidelberg JFC), Liam Sutton (Preston Bullants), Curtis Taplin (Whittlesea), Adam Tomaro (Marcellin Old Collegians), Evan Tsitsis (Macleod JFC), Stefan Uzelac (Montmorency), Mitch Wild (South Morang), Oliver Wilson (Research), Kye Yodgee (Banyule JFC) and Lincoln Zhang (Ivanhoe).

Related News